Anyone and everyone (just not you).

Pop quiz! Here are a few questions I want you to answer and try to remember your total number of checked boxes at the end. Sound good? Okay, perfect – bear with me, this post has more of a point than inspiring flashbacks to the dreaded days of homework, tests, and projects in high school and college. Ugh.
Please check the box(es) that best apply to your life:

[  ] I have two legs (or if not, I have a prosthetic, wheelchair, etc. and am fairly mobile)


Okay, if you checked 0-1 boxes … Congratulations! You’re qualified to be a runner!

I feel like this is gonna be me ...

One thing that always happens when I tell people that I run cross country and track is usually some sort of wide-eyed disbelief (sorry I don’t fit the super skinny, long ponytail with a cute bow, and running around in colorful spandex stereotype, okay?), and some comment along the lines of, “Oh, I could never be a runner!” Well, those people you stand corrected, and I intend to tell you exactly why I think so. I mean, you already passed the (very advanced and certified, I might add) test … so what’s stopping you?

Pop Quiz! (again) No trick questions here, just be sure (again) to check the boxes that best apply to you! Remember to keep track of the number of boxes you check, be honest with yourself, and don’t stress because this test is fake anyway. 

1. [  ] I don’t have time to workout and/or don’t want to

2. [  ] I hate running

3. [  ] Last time I tried to run I realized how out of shape I was and didn’t make it very far and/or didn’t try again

4. [  ] There isn’t anywhere to run where I live

5. [  ] My shoes aren’t “running shoes” from some trendy shoe store

6. [  ] I hate running

7. [  ] It’s too hot/cold/rainy/snowy/perfect weather outside

8. [  ] We don’t own a treadmill and/or I don’t want to run on the track

9. [  ] I’ve injured my ______ in the past and the doc said I can’t run

10. [  ] I hate running

11. [  ] I’m already overweight/underweight so I don’t need to run to lose weight

12. [  ] I think that runners are a weird & eclectic group that I’m too cool for

13. [  ] I already workout or have other hobbies that involve exercise

14. [  ] I hate running

15. [  ] Other: please give a good excuse explanation


If you checked a certain amount of boxes (imaginary checkmarks – whatever), here’s what it means:

0-5: You’re the passive aggressive, silent type, which is a perfect personality type for a runner! From silently cussing out annoying drivers, complaining about the weather/running route/etc., and solo runs of talking to yourself … running will teach you so much about yourself and (more than likely) help you to be more outgoing!

5-10: Well, you’re pretty average, but that’s definitely not a bad thing. You might like to exercise, but it’s a love-hate relationship. You should join the world of running where we run to eat, keep running because of the runner’s high, and the more we run … the better we feel about ourselves and what our bodies can do … As in how many cookies we can eat in one sitting (one cookie per mile, right?).

10-15: From the amount of boxes you checked, you seem like the type of person who is close-minded and hates running. Welcome to the club! Running totally is terrible, painful, and oftentimes boring – you’re right! The thing about running is that as much as you might hate it, each run’s endorphins helps to block the pain … and makes you become addicted to like it just that much more.

So, moral of the story = anyone and everyone can run. Key word there is can. Well, unless you’re bedridden for some reason or the doctor really did advise you not to. I mean, even if you’re missing two legs, or disabled in some way, your excuses are pointless – anything is possible.


Example A: Oscar Pistorius.

Olympic runner from South Africa – a double amputee with bionic legs (let’s not get into the other main reason he’s famous right now, yeah?).


Example B: Forrest Gump.

Not sure why he couldn’t run, I mean he ran across the country and grew a massive beard … (I just wanted to use this picture since it was so fitting, hahaha).

amelia-and-coach
Example C: Amelia Dickerson

This gal (and her guide) set the word record for the blind 5k in 20:47. I can barely run that even with two working eyes, I can’t imagine running (or racing!) without being able to see. Heck, even trying to walk in a straight line with my eyes closed throws me off. Being blind and active is pretty incredible, let alone running, and running well. Too cool.

Example D: Harriette Thompson

The oldest woman to complete a marathon – just at the fresh spry age of 92. Who care that it took her over 7 hours, that’s pretty awesome. Not to mention the rest of her life accomplishments: surviving cancer, playing as a concert pianist, and being a super cool grandma to 10 kids. Can you say life goals?

I keep thinking, ‘I don’t deserve this [attention],’ but if it helps or if it encourages anybody, it makes me feel good,” Thompson said. “I think if I can do it, anybody can do it, because I wasn’t trained to be a runner. But I have also found that it’s very invigorating. I feel like a million dollars when I’m finished.”


So the point of this blog? Anyone and everyone can be a runner … Just not you. Or, not at least according to you. We’re often our own worst enemies & degrade ourselves in our abilities or potential. Yes, running is hard. Does it take time you’d rather devote to something else? Sure. Is the time spent on a run, struggling to put one foot in front of the other just to cover a distance, worth it? Definitely.

There’s something special about being a runner. Not because we’re special in how far or fast we can run, but in the community of runners across the world that’s unlike anything or anyone else. There’s nothing better than meeting someone else who shares those same experiences: embarrassing snot rockets on yourself, waking up at dawn for a few miles, braving the worst weather conditions, losing a toenail/blisters/every other gross “runner’s feet” problem, & even making it through those days of absolutely zero motivation … Because those are most often the best of runs – the ones that keep us going day after day, month after month, year after year.

So get out there! Not advising you to go out and run some crazy mileage without building up to it (and then blame me when you’re sore and/or injured – whoops), but know that if you want to someday run a marathon, half, 10k, 5k, mile, or even lap around the block … Nothing and no one is stopping you, but you.

Until next time,

Gabby

2 thoughts on “Anyone and everyone (just not you).

  1. What you say is true! I never believed I could be a runner. If you had asked me in high school or even throughout my 20s, to run, I would have laughed! But yet, after 4 kids, I began running and haven’t stopped since. Let me clarify… I didn’t begin running FROM my kids. I ran in circles and always returned home… :)
    Hope your PT is going well.

    • Hahaha RIGHT. ;-) So cool to hear that you picked up running later on! I sometimes wonder if I would have gotten into running if I hadn’t started in junior high! Crazy. PT and all the stretching seems to be helping a bit so far – hopefully that continues!! Thank you. :-)

What'd you think?

