What’s up, Doc?

Never been a huge fan of Bugs Bunny, but I love his one liner and honestly? It fits this blog PERFECTLY. Maybe you’re thinking that I’ve been to the doctor this past week (this IS a running blog & I do actually need to go to the doctor – more on that later), but you would be wrong on that! Using this blog like it was first created for, to share experiences I’ve had through running. Readers (if there are any of you out there besides my grandma), this is one story that you have to promise not to report to the police click away from before reading about the groundbreaking (*ba dum pshh*) opportunity my teammates and I had last track season.

Part 1: Planting the seeds (not literally, not yet)

So, to start. It was a rainy week in the beginning of May (haha I’d say the exact day but I’m still not sure if we can get in trouble) and track season was winding to a close with a few weeks left. I’d say don’t ask me how the idea came to us, but let’s just assume that the post-run or post-workout endorphins got to our heads, and my distance teammates and I started thinking about silly things having to do with the track and football field. Somehow it came up that we talked about farming and planting flowers or different vegetables in the green, luscious, fertilized, well watered, perfectly sunny (and shaded, mind you) patches of the football field. Can you see where this is going? The idea of coming back the track on a summer day for a run only to  … “lo and behold! A patch of sunflowers beginning to show by the goal post – how beautiful!” Yeah, that was pretty much the coolest thing ever to think about happening. I mean, who says I had anything to do with it? Maintenance could just mow them down anyway.

[Sidenote: Whenever it rains a lot, the grass field ALWAYS floods. Did I mention that the field is unevenly sloped? Since we live in western Washington, that seems to happen a lot, too … go figure. I remember one time it when the drains got clogged (so bad that there was standing water all the way out into lane 4 on the track!) that one of our track coaches had to wade through it all & try to clear the drain with a rake that’s usually used for the sand in the long jump pit. Hahaha best. thing. ever.]

Part 2: Planting the seeds (literally)

It didn’t take too many little comments, jokes, and conversations before we realized that planting seeds in the football field could potentially be the best thing anyone from our high school had ever done – assuming we were successful of course! Maybe the fact that it was my senior year, I graduated in less than a month, and there was no punishment that could keep me from my diploma was extra incentive too, but who knows now. We really had no clue what would happen if we got caught or anything like that, but just that the distance track team and cross country kids would always be remembered for having planted some type of vegetable on the football field. Epic.

All we needed now was the seeds! Within a few days, we had them! None of us knew about the growing seasons for different vegetables or plants, so our decided team botanist (who will not be named here for sake of privacy *cough Andrea*) came back with packets of CARROTS! Again, see where I’m going with this?

IMG_3368

Part 3: Planting our literal carrot seeds (& all the while not getting caught)

I think it was the day before a meet, or some sort of practice that was pretty relaxed and allowed us to goof off a bit (or maybe it was a normal day, not sure). Either way, giggling the entire time, we managed to grab the packets of carrot seeds and give handfuls to each of our teammates. As we ran barefoot around the track we would drop them, “tie our shoes” (“wait I thought you just said you were running barefoot?” – exactly, my friends. We were really good about not being suspicious), and randomly inspect the sides of the track and in the most UNSUSPICIOUS OR WEIRD way, dig little holes and plant carrot seeds into the football field. I mean, we thought we were being sneaky about it & looking back at it? I’m sure that the other track kids and coaches thought that whatever the distance kids were up to wasn’t anything out of the ordinary. Obviously the reputation we had for ourselves was to be a little strange, but I’m not arguing with that. How can I?!

Part 4: Waiting for out little carrots to grow (so we could snack on them after running track workouts)

For the next few weeks of the season we would occasionally go the spots we planted out seeds and dig a little, thinking we saw sprouts and growth – that we were making our way into the record books for our amazing idea. Once track season ended, I continued to check the grass before leaving for college later that summer. No little green sprouts that I saw. No carrots. Sorry Bugs.

IMG_0649

Whether any carrots grew or not, even just a centimeter or two, I guess we’ll never know … but I like to think we had some success. I was reminded of this awesome day of planting and my wild teammates a few weeks ago when I heard that my high school’s field was being replaced with turf. The real grass is now gone (along with any future chances to plant anything). We took hold of the opportunity while we could and like I said, as far as I’m concerned, some construction guy was probably pretty confused to see a few carrots piled in the dump trucks as they pulled away with the last of the old field & the old memory of the Monte distance runners who just wanted a bit more Vitamin A in their lives.

Until next time,

Gabby

One thought on “What’s up, Doc?

What'd you think?

