Sweet Teens.

Coming up with a title for my posts always seems like the hardest part. For this one in particular, one came to me before I had even established what I would write about. With that, I suppose you’re now thinking, “Sweet Teens? What does that even mean!?” To that I say … Well, I have no response. This post was supposed to be called “Sweet Sixteens” and be a play on words about events in my life involving the number 16 and of course, posted on the 16th. Because of my own crazy schedule and getting distracted by things I thought were more important than a blog post, the 16th has passed and I’ve been left with plenty of good ideas and no title for them. Rather than ditch them all for another post, here’s a glimpse into what’s been going on in my crazy life …

15

The number of seconds between my mile time and the school record.

At our meet this past Thursday I ran the 1600m (the mile), the 800m, 4x400m relay, and threw discus. Even though I ran the 1600m at our first meet last Saturday, my time was slower as I had run the 3200m about an hour before. However, on Thursday, I ran the mile fresh and PR’ed by 5 seconds! Woohoo! :-) I am excited to be starting the season on such a good note, but those 15 seconds are sitting heavily in my mind. Watch out record ….

17

How old I’m turning in two weeks!

I can’t believe it. In two weeks I’ll be able to go to rated-R movies on my own! So much freedom comes with turning 17. I can’t wait! Okay, maybe not that many things. Either way, I truly cannot believe it. On my birthday I’ll be on the other side of the country visiting colleges with my parents and honestly? I can’t believe that either.

12

The number of 400m intervals we had to do the other day.

I always groan and complain when I find out that we have to run so many intervals, but this year the workout went flawless! We split up the full 12 into 3 sets of 4 with plenty of rest in between. I ran at goal pace and even faster than my coach asked for. All in all, it was a great workout and made for a good day. Looking back on it, a full week later, those 400m repeats weren’t actually that bad …

5

Number of days until my parents and I leave for the East Coast.

No, the number 5 doesn’t quite qualify as a number in the teens, but I thought it was an important enough event to be included. On the 31st, next Sunday, my parents and I will be visiting the East Coast again for my spring break. This time we are going farther south and will be visitng colleges. More on that later though, I promise! Until then, I can’t wait to go! :-)

The more I write of events going on in my life, the more I realize that I have a lot to look forward to. While some of the things I’m looking forward to break the boundary of less than 20 days and aren’t included in this post, they are happening nonetheless. More than just looking forward to upcoming events, focusing on keeping a positive attitude through all the ups and downs that happen from day to day, I am happy with it all. Sure there are moments that I wish I was running faster, that spring break was closer, I could better understand my math homework, or get more sleep each night … but, I’m doing my best. Working hard and always striving to be better? Now that’s what will matter in the long run. Pardon my pun, but this is a running blog after all. ;-)
Our next track meet is this Thursday and is one of my favorite meets of the year. Only 2 days! After that, my plan is to survive Friday at school and then woohoo! Spring break here I come! Before leaving to explore the great campuses of Vanderbilt, Emory, William & Mary, Duke, and Wake Forest, I’ll make sure to fill you readers in on my meet. Who knows, our relay might right a perfectly sweet teen time. ;-) Wish us luck!

Until next time,
Gabby.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Teens.

  1. Gabby, you’re parents must be so proud of you. I wish I had had half the motivation and ambition you have at such a young age.
    Keep the school record in your sights. I KNOW you can beat it.
    Best of luck in your meet this Thursday. And enjoy the East Coast! I can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Ooh I can’t wait to hear about your college visits. It’s such an exciting time in life!! Good luck with the record, I know you can do it!!

What'd you think?

