Progress Report: Winter Goals.

Two weeks ago marked the halfway point of my junior year: the end of the semester. That being so, teachers have been giving finals, grading papers, and changing schedules. My schedule this year has been really relaxed and given me plenty of time to focus on extracurriculars and best of all, escape homework! Even then, I’m still busier than ever. Having grades come out, I figured it was also time for a report card of my own. Near the beginning of the off-season after cross country ended, I gave myself a few goals that I wanted to work towards before track started in the spring. With the start date of track season quickly approaching, I figured it was time to have a look at what I originally set my mind to do and see how I’ve done.

  1. Cross-training: Tobi’s Circuits — A

Three days a week for the past two and a half months, I’ve done the new  strength workouts without fail. Some days have gone better than others, and for as long as I’ve been doing the routines … I still get sore. Not to mention being absolutely exhausted! Grrrrr. Soreness aside, I can feel and even see myself getting stronger. As the coach from Whitworth said, “I’ve never seen somebody who lifted weights get slower.” Keeping my fingers crossed that he’s right!

       2.  Positive attitude — A-

After ending my cross country season on such a high note, I’ve been able to keep a positive attitude about my training. Running a huge PR at the beginning of January solidified that confidence, and I feel like a completely different person than I was even from a few months. Rather than give myself an A+++ from as good as it sounds I’m doing with completing this goal, the past week I’ve let myself slip into doubt and negativity. The past week of running has been tiring, long, and has made me question my training and how in shape I am. In an attempt to stay positive, I’ve realized that all I need is to think of the past week as a down week. Not every week can be the best. Running has its ups and downs and while I may be in a bit of a slump right now … the best is still yet to come.

       3.  Running partners — F

If only F stood for “fantastic!” but alas, this is the one part of my winter report card that I haven’t followed through on. While it’s also one that isn’t completely in my control, most of running has been alone. On occasion I’ve run with some of my friends, but overall? Lone wolf. In some ways, I’m bummed that I haven’t been able to run with others. At the same time, being the selfish person that I am, I’ve enjoyed my solo runs. Even in the past month alone, I feel like I’ve come to a really good place mentally. I’m more focused on my training and getting ready for track, and have kept a positive attitude.

       4.  Saving 3 lives — A++++++

Okay, it wasn’t actually one of my original goals, but it’s one that I’m the happiest about accomplishing! On Thursday my school held a blood drive and this year, as I was old enough, I participated. 1 pint of blood saves 3 lives. I think that if you can donate blood, you totally should! I’m so happy I could help donate to those who need it. :-)

downsized_0207131456

Overall, not too shabby of a progress report. Along the way, I’ve added to my off-season goals and have been fairly successful thus far. Those that I added include: running a 5K in February (which I will be next Saturday!), running 35-45 miles per week, adding in strides, and as always … staying positive. Counting down the 16 days left until track season, I’m more than excited. I’ve set goals for the upcoming season already, but am keeping them in the back in my mind in order to solely focus on the off-season and what I can accomplish in the next two weeks. During the season, I’ll still be lifting weights multiple times a week, hopefully keeping a good attitude, and running with my teammates. Grade on my next training report card? No more “fantastic” Fs, that’s for sure! ;-)  

Until next time,

Gabby.

Inspirational-Quotes-4

2 thoughts on “Progress Report: Winter Goals.

  1. You go, Girl! Great report card! Personally, I like to run by myself. I mean, I love being part of a “race” with lots of runners, but even then, I want to run alone.
    35-45 miles a week! That’s incredible!

    • Haha besides the F of course! ;-) Thank you! I can understand wanting to run alone, I’ve come to enjoy it. For me though, the best part about races is being with others. Haha I like being able to set my sights on someone to catch up to, or matching someone elses’s pace near me. I think it must be the competitive side in me!

What'd you think?

