Of mud puddles & best friends.

*Ahem …

320648_10200197253158609_404461391_n

Before I say anything else, I wanted to update you on my high school’s football team. Just want to give a huge shout out to them for winning the 1A State Championship game on Saturday! Woohoo! It was an absolutely awesome game to watch and so much sweeter that it ended in a win for my Bulldogs! They deserve this win so much and I can’t even begin to explain how much it means to the community. Al I can say, is that Montesano is a pretty great place to be lately. :-)

With a championship game to watch, my weekend involved just that! I also had time to get together with my partner in crime Andrea, have late night adventures, help out the community food bank through picking up paper bags of food with my school during what we call “Foodbowl”, and plenty of time to relax. With such horrible, rainy weather lately, nothing was better than sitting inside with some of my friends after being outside and drinking hot chocolate and watching clips about our football team on the news. Too cool.

As for running, I took the weekend off and enjoyed the laziness of it all. Screaming and cheering on a football team is hard work! My lungs got a workout somehow at least! While I don’t usually take two days off, I’ve decided to change my off-season training a little bit more. Instead of worrying about keeping a tight schedule and running perfect workouts everyday, I’m going to make it so every three weeks, I take a full two days off. This way, I won’t get as worn down from running and it hopefully will keep me in a better mood as I get grumpy about having to run the same routes everyday around town. It’s worth a shot!

270161_10151248609087976_132314651_n

With such rainy Washington weather lately, I made up my mind after school today that I had only one thing I wanted to accomplish during my run today … to get muddy. Seeing pictures of the Nike Cross Nationals race inspired me to run through each puddle that I came across in hopes of finishing my run mud streaked and looking like all the runners I saw pictures of. Ugh, so jealous.  This in mind, I headed off to run a trail (the muddiest I could think of!) only to get back to the high school and find my legs as clean as before I left. I suppose that proves just how wet it really was this afternoon! Time to pull out more of my leggings, long sleeves, and I’ll have to remember to have my shoe drier turned on for the next three months. Can’t say I didn’t miss the rain a little bit, but man … aren’t you supposed to run and then take a shower?

Oh, by the way … Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a great weekend and have a good rest of your week!

Until next time,

Gabby.

390608_3025366750665_1157654785_3309870_1578087018_n

4 thoughts on “Of mud puddles & best friends.

  1. Congratulations to your entire town! So fun, isn’t it?
    I participated in a mud run this summer. There isn’t too much running, but a ton of mud, and it was incredibly fun. I was washing mud off of me for days. ;)
    Hope you have a great week!

    • Oooooh, a mud run would be blast! My friend and I almost did one this summer, but it didn’t end up working out. From what you said, sounds like I missed out!! Haha I’m on the quest for mud! :-P
      My week has been great, thank you! I hope you’ve had a great week as well1 :-)

What'd you think?

