Now what?

With the cross country season ending last Saturday after state, my coach decided that it was best for me to take a break off of running. Seeing that I run year-round and compete in both cross country and track, he’s right. My body needs the rest and time to recover after a long, hard season. There’s only one problem … I’ve only ever taken three days off in a row max. That’s why this week has been so long, horrible, boring, sad relaxing and rejuvenating so far! I decided to take off a whole entire week and start again next Monday. By that, I mean a full eight days. Yeah, that’s a long time, right? I’ve made it so far and seeing that I’m busy tomorrow and Sundays are my usual rest days, I think I might make it. Key word: might.

Day 2.

Look how happy I looked at the beginning of the week! *Sigh.* After school on Monday, I used my extra two hours that I normally run, to catch up on some homework, relax, have my friend braid my hair, and hangout with my dad. Eventful, right? I was kind of on the edge about wanting to workout or run, but decided against it and really enjoyed not having to do anything. Now let’s jump ahead a few days …

Day 6.

Well, this was from earlier today. Don’t I look enthused? My school had an early out so I just decided to come home afterwards. Ugh, more homework. Since Monday, I haven’t really done much with all my free time. If you can tell, I got a haircut. I’ve also managed to go to the movies with my friends, and get back to volunteering at our local nursing home/rehab again. On the non-running side of things, the other day I cross-trained and lifted some weights. Other than that I’ve just been sitting at home like a normal, non-active teenager, getting chubby. Mission accomplished.

So this whole not running thing? Yeah, not a fan. I like my normal schedule of running and working out after school instead of coming home right away. The past week, I’ve been so screwed up. Only a few days left though! Throughout the week, I’ve been surprised by how hard it’s been mentally to not run. To keep from running, I just need to keep in mind that I do in fact run year-round and rarely take time off other than my usual Sunday. My body needs the rest and mentally, I’m sure I’ll be glad of it once I’m back. The idea of having to get back in shape after losing a week of training scares me, but I’ll take it as it comes. This is the first time on over two years that I’ve ever taken off more than three straight days running. Not running when I have my stress fracture doesn’t count, mainly since I had no choice in that matter. Who knows? Maybe taking some time off after the season will leave me stronger and better rested to run harder in the off-season while getting ready for track. That’s the hope at least! :-)

The weather the past few days has been perfect for fall. It’s been sunny out, but crisp and cold. Ah, I love it! Western Washington is usually known for rain and grey skies, but the past few days have been great. I hope it stays around. Tonight my high school’s football team has their first round of playoffs and as I’m in the band, I get to travel with them to play at it. Bring on two pairs of socks, a long sleeve shirt, cotton t-shirt, sweatshirt, Letterman jacket, gloves, and head-warmer! It’s going to be a long night for the Bulldogs as we’re facing a hard team, but it should be a good game. Cross country state out-of-the-way, I hope we won’t be the only sports team to make it to state this year as volleyball and golf didn’t make, and soccer didn’t make it past the first round. Just another Friday night under the stadium lights. Got to love high school sometimes!

Sure, a lot of this post is just me complaining about taking time off, but who else is going to listen to me? Pretty sure all my friends are sick of hearing about it and want Monday to be here already. Sorry guys! The time off has been somewhat relaxing, fattening, and overall …. weird. The past week has given me plenty of time to reflect on the cross country season and realize what I’ve gained out of another year of racing, and I’ve picked out a few things that I still need to work on improving. I can’t thank everyone enough for their support through reading this blog and offering advice along with all the comments of good-luck along the way. It means so so much! I still am not over how well everything ended this season and have a much more positive attitude looking forward to the future of my training and racing come spring. As Monday comes closer, I will be enjoying my time off and being a “normal” teenager who isn’t involved in sports. Thank goodness for Pinterest and Pandora … I mean for homework. Or at least that’s what I should be doing with all this extra time. ;-)

If you run, how often do you take time off? What’s you favorite part about fall?

Utnil next time,

Gabby.

2 thoughts on “Now what?

  1. I’m like you. I don’t like to take time off. I’ve been forced to in the past due to injuries, and I was no fun to live with. Complaining all the time. I don’t like to take off more than 3 days in a row either. After 3 days, I’m usually itchin’ to run, which is a good thing. I never want to burn out.
    If you’ve made it this far, you’re doing great! I am sure your coach is right – after all, he coached you through a great season. He must know what he’s doing. ;)
    Have a great run on Monday! Don’t you just love running in cool, crisp weather?

    • Haha glad I’m not alone! Day 3 was the hardest mainly because that’s the longest I’ve ever rested before, but one I make it throught that da, it was a bit easier to relax and enjoy the time off. I don’t want to burn out either!
      My coach has a lot of experience under his belt since he’s ben a runner himself for 35 years and is still out there. I totally trust him and now that I’m back to running, know that taking a break was the right thing to do! More details to come on that. :-)
      I had a grat run Monday and am getting back into the swing of things. I loved the crisp, cool weather at the beginning of the week, but today was just cold … and wet! :-)
      Hope all is well! Thank you so much for your comment!

What'd you think?

