A PR and pre-race worry.

Happy Halloween!

I’m supposed to be packing right now, but decided I wanted to get in a quick post before leaving for state tomorrow. As I mentioned before, my whole team is going to state for cross country. We qualified last Saturday at Districts and will run this Saturday at the 1A Cross Country State Championships. Even the name of the race shows sounds important! What I didn’t mention, was how I ran this weekend. I felt like a post devoted to my teammates was better, but wanted to blow off some of my nerves and talk about my own race and goals for the end of the season.

On Saturday, I ran  a PR. A personal record not only for this season, but for like … ever. My previous time was a 19:36 from this summer, but I raced a bit faster for a 19:12. Ahhhhhh! With that time, I won the district title alongside my teammate “Kevin” and am going onto state ranked seventh. As in the number seven that comes after six, and is less than 10. Like the top sixteen at state get on the podium and I’m ranked seventh. Yeah, no pressure.

My freshman year of cross country, I  PR’d on the state course with a 20:14 and placed 10th. One of my teammates, now graduated, also placed on the podium in thirteenth. Sophomore year, I had a stress fracture and was still injured near the end of the year running a 21:22 for a solid sixty-fifth place finish. Junior year? Who knows. Saturday was a season PR of 33 seconds. For a 5K, that’s huge and I’m a bit nervous that I won’t be able to run such a good time this weekend.

Joe Newton is a legendary cross country coach who once wrote 129 “thoughts to live your life by.” My own coach often refers to them and I do my best to follow the ones I remember. Faced with such a big weekend, I remember #23. Take responsibility for everything that you do or fail to do. No matter what happens on Saturday, I’ve had a good season, my team has run a good season, and I’ve loved every minute of it all. Using writing as a way to work through my nerves has gone better than expected, actually. I have ton of support from my friends, family, teammates, teachers, coaches, and various others going into race day. I just hope I can relax, have fun, and run a race that’s sure not to disappoint anyone.

We’re leaving tomorrow afternoon and bound for Pasco, so this is the last you’ll hear from me until after the craziness of state has subsided and I’m back at home on Saturday night. I’m almost all packed and am ready to enjoy a six hour bus ride with my team when we leave tomorrow. Wish us luck!

P.S: Andrea and I decided to change things up for the last cross country practice of the season, so we wore high Nike socks. Mostly just boys and/or basketball players wear them, but I think we pulled them off pretty well! Wearing the high socks made us feel insta-cool and feel as though we had cool kid “swag.” Maybe we’re a bit weird, but oh well. That’s us runners for you! :-)

Until next time,

Gabby.

8 thoughts on “A PR and pre-race worry.

  1. That PR is incredible, Gabby! No matter how you race on Saturday, you should be extremely proud of yourself!
    But if you are as competitive as I am, you’re still planning on pushing yourself to have a good race – I have no doubt you can do it! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

What'd you think?

