15 hours from now …

Hey guys!

Just wanted to write a quick post before heading to bed since Districts are in the morning! I wrote about how I was feeling at the beginning of the week about it all, but now? I’m feeling pretty … excited.

I thought I would be super nervous and stressed out, but this is part of the race strategy I’m trying for Districts. My goal is to focus on tomorrow’s race like it is any other meet and not one weighted with importance. If I start thinking about how much this meet means and how important it is that I run a good race to qualify for state, I simply won’t run well. I’ll have beaten myself mentally before I even get to the starting line. I know you’re probably thinking, “Oh, wow. She’s actually learning to relax.” and by thinking that, you’re just as surprised as I am right now! Well … saying one thing is different from actually taking the steps to make it happen, but I’m fairly relaxed and confident about running well tomorrow. With a good attitude, who know what will happen? :-)

As for my team, the two other girls and I said goodbye to our District Championship trophy the other night. Since there are only three of us and at least five are needed for a team, we don’t even get the chance to defend our title. It’s a bittersweet ending to the season seeing our trophy passed on, but I’m still proud to have been on the team that placed our team’s name onto the trophy for the first time in over fifteen years. Giving it up just adds more motivation to getting a girl’s team together next year and winning it back for my senior year. The boys’ team, on the other hand, has a good shot at defending their title and keeping it away from the previous winners that are also the same team that are threatening to take it away tomorrow. If each of our boys runs their best race tomorrow, there is no question that we have a really good chance. That’s up to them though, and knowing my boys? They’re going to give it their all. No doubt about it.

As the tradition of District races go, I like to tell my team good luck. Instead of simply going up to them with a high-five and saying “Good luck,” I make paper stars. For each of my teammates, I write a seperate note, and fold it up into a paper star. I started this tradition my freshman year of track and have done it every District race since then for all of my teammates in obth cross country and track. It’s a more personal way to say both good luck and whatever else I wanted to pass along before the big race. Some of my teammates appreciate them more than others, but either way it’s something that I like to do and has become somewhat expected of me to do. Of course when we get to state I can’t make stars again, so I’m still thinking of something creative to do! Any ideas?

15 hours from now … I’ll be walking through the finish chute of my race and cheering on my fellow teammates and competition. Hopefully with the burden of going to state off my shoulders as well. I have a new race strategy, stars to handout to my team, and plenty of dry clothes for a soaking wet meet. No matter what happens, it’s been a good season and I can say that I’m proud of my team for everything that they’ve done and continue to do. Here we go …

Until next time,

Gabby.

2 thoughts on “15 hours from now …

What'd you think?

