Working 24/7.

Did you know that 155.2 million people aged 16 and over are in the labor force?

I’m sure most of you who reads this are apart of that large count, but as for me? I’ve enjoyed my Labor Day weekend by taking time off of school to visit family. Not work. With that time, my parents and I made a trip to visit my grandparents and were able to see my aunt, uncle, and cousin as well. Since we live 3 hours away from our closest relative, it’s a bonus when we get to see them more than twice a year at the major holiday get togethers.

Speaking of taking time off of school, school started last Thursday! Which if you counted, means that yes. Yes, I had two days of school and then a three-day weekend. Isn’t it great? Except for the homework. Ugh, definitley not great. Other than the math homework that I knew was coming, as the teacher is known to give nightly assignments, I was given one that was s little more on the creative side. My Honors English 11 teacher, who’s also my cross country team’s new assistant coach, gave our class the assignment to write an “I believe” statement and talk about it in front of the class. The statement was supposed to be something that was important to you and a topic that you would be able to speak in front of the class about. This is what I came up with ….

“I believe that hard work can make you and define you.”

Yeah, you can quote me on that. Oh, thanks to Instagram for making my picture just so much more intense, too. Anyway, this is the believe statement that I came up with. I figured that I would incorporate hard work into it because I feel like giving everything you do your best effort and working hard are both traits that I respect in others and strive for in myself. Whether people are working towards small goals or have dreams that are larger than life, there is no other way to achieve them other than putting in the time and effort. Starting to run and becoming a runner in overcoming all the challenges that are attached to it has made me who I am today. Without motivation from a variety of sources, support from those around me, and putting in the hard work … I’d just be a mediocre soccer player floating through highschool with no great dreams or aspirations for myself. Maybe it sounds sad, but I really don’t know what would’ve happened if I hadn’t become a runner. Running has taught me so many things and I have matured and changed so much through each and every experience. With all of the experiences that I’ve had thus far as a part of the running community, each race, training run, fun run, and workout brings a deeper sense of appreciation and love for what I do. Commitment, perseverance, integrity, maturity, courage, a new and healthier outlook on life. Running has taught me to put in the hard work not only into my training, but into every other aspect of my life. Things may not go as planned, but as long as you give it your best effort, there is nothing more to ask. These actions come to define who you whether you succeed the first time, or the twentieth time. Working hard in one area goes to reflect into every aspect of who people are and gradually becomes second nature, an added piece of their personality. If people don’t want to work hard and are happy allowing themselves to float through life on the work of others then they can go ahead. It’s their own life and they alone are responsible for their actions. All I ask? Just don’t get in my way as I strive to be my best and pass by while working to be all that I can.

The rubric my teacher gave us says that our “I believe” speeches in front of the class should be about 1-3 minutes. What I’ve written above? That’s what I’ll try to say. I have the tendency while speaking (and in writing, if you haven’t noticed!) to get carried away and often, off-topic. Regardless, I chose a statement that’s important to me and that I strongly believe in can ramble about for way more than three minutes. I guess I’d call that following the prompt.  

On that note, it’s getting somewhat late and it’s a school night. Ugh. Just kidding, I like school … sometimes. Either way, I don’t have a choice in going so might as well suck it up, get to bed, and drag my butt to school in the morning. I always have cross country to look forward to if the day goes too horribly! With school, practice, and whatever other extracurriculars pop up, that means that my blogs will be coming to a link/WordPress site near you about once a week. Until the excitement of a new school year simmers down, I’ll try and post little updates here and there and make sure to share anything running-related asap! I suppose it’s a good thing I don’t have a job then. Blogging, running, and school are hard enough to juggle! With such a busy schedule I don’t feel like I could fit in a job, or let alone work hard at it. ;-)

What do you believe in?

Until next time,

Gabby.

Of course! My coach has been running for 35 years and it such a great example of this! Not to mention the best motivation out there. :-)

One thought on “Working 24/7.

What'd you think?

