Good omens.

Hi everyone!

Today is the day. I’m probably a horrible blogger for not keeping you guys updated, but guess what? I’m doing a 5K tonight! It isn’t a huge deal or anything, only my good friend (and teammate!) coach and I are going, but it’s at night! We decided to do it because 1) it’s at night and none of us have done it before, and 2) it’s at NIGHT! I’m pumped. The race starts at 9 and if everything goes well, I should be done by 9:20-ish. Track has been over for a month, but it feels as though summer training has been going on forever! Not that I mind long runs and two-a-days much. Way better than track workouts, that’s for sure!

Okay, got off track there … Anyway, this race isn’t a big deal, but I’m still excited and a tiny bit nervous to see what will happen. I’m in pretty good shape right now and haven’t raced a 5K in a while so we’ll see what happens. The last 5K I did was a road race and I PR’d, so I’m hoping that with a track season and three weeks of summer training under my belt, I can run a fast time. Also, I’m not superstitious, but lately I’ve come across things that I’ve taken as good omens for the race.

1.) Epsom salts.

I took a warm bath with the dissolved epsom salts and am excited to see how much of a difference they make for sore muscles compared to ice baths! Twenty minutes soaking your legs in a warm bath compared to twenty with two bags of ice? I’ll take the warm bath any day!

2.) Timex watch.

 What’s better than a new watch? Okay, maybe shoes, but this is a close second! Nothing will ever replace my Garmin, but since I wear it everyday on runs anyway, I decided I wanted a sports watch just to wear. It’s a heck of a lot lighter, too! This sleek, blue wonder is the Womans’ Timex Ironman Triathlon and is basically glued to my wrist. I love it!

3.) Fortune cookie?

What’s a better omen of good luck and good things happening, than a fortune cookie? I got this one last week and thought it was so spot-on that I just had to save it. I guess summer is an exciting time. Definitely when I still have races, volunteering, running camps, and plenty of free time to hangout with my friends to look forward to! Wonderful and thrilling indeed. ;-)

There’s still a little over 6 hours before my race to hangout, eat dinner, and relax. I’m back at home from visiting family, about to be re-united with one of my really good friends after a long two weeks apart, and life is good. Have to love life’s little things, no matter what they are, that can prove how great everything is going. Like I said, I’m not superstitious … but something is going on. Just not sure what. Whatever it is, I’m happy with it and hope it continues. :-)

Until next time,

Gabby.

4 thoughts on “Good omens.

What'd you think?

