East Coast.

Hello again! I’m sorry it’s been so long, but there’s been places for me to go, people to meet, food to eat, and dreams to be realized. That’s right … I’ve been on vacation! Since I left, I’ve begun to think of being back at home as more of a prolonged vacation seeing that I loved the East Coast and have been referring to it as “home.” Instead of writing a long, drawn out, boring, and way too descriptive book about my trip, I decided to make a collage! It may not show all of what we saw, but here are some of the highlights from my East Coast visit … Oh, and since I wasn’t quite able to take a picture of each state sign we passed or put them in this collage, our trip was a mini road trip as we visited Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine.

#1. The Coast of Maine: See that lighthouse? Well, it’s along the coast of Maine (not quite sure what town?) and attracts 500,000 visitors every year. Not to mention that in the nearby park there is a little hotdog stand called Frank’s Franks. Grab a hotdog and enjoy the beautiful view … even if it’s a bit windy!

#2. Coca-Focus: The white Ford Focus at the top was fondly named the “Coca-Focus” after we picked it up the very first day and opened the doors to a nauseatingly strong smell of coconut. Even after driving it for a week, having coffee and other foods in the car, as well as opening the windows … when we returned it, you could still get out of the car, get back in … and smell coconut. Ugh.

#3. Lobsta: How could we go to the East Coast and not have lobster?! That’s some type of sin, I swear it is. Besides this lobster bake that is pictured above, we also had TONS of seafood throughout the week. This list included clams, oysters, swordfish, haddock, mussels, and shrimp. We also tried “New England’s Best Lobster Roll” at a place called Bob’s Clam Shack. Maybe they just claim to be the best, but I’m behind them all the way. Their lobster rolls were really good! If only the West Coast had as many places that sold lobster rolls … *sigh*

#4. Paul Revere’s house: We spent two full days in Boston, how could we not see the historic sights? Paul Revere’s house is a museum inside, but a sign said not to take pictures. It was nestled in the city near Little Italy, so I wouldn’t have minded being Paul Revere and living there … except for the floorboards. Talk about squeaky!

#5. Paul Revere’s statue: That’s right, we got the full Paul Revere experience! Walking along the Freedom Trail we came upon his statue/monument, so of course I took a picture! Besides seeing this monument and his house, we even got to see his gravestone at one of the old cemeteries. Only thing we were missing was meeting him in person! He’d only be 200 years old or so …

#6. State building: The big gold dome topped building is right by Boston Common and where we started each time we were in Boston. A huge, beautiful building filled with so much history. I wish we had gotten the chance to go inside!

#7. USS Constitution a.k.a “Ole Ironsides”: Again, this ship was another must-see item on our trip and while in Boston. It’s the Navy’s longest commissioned war ship and as it’s celebrating its bicentennial this year, they are going to try to sail it on its own. Beside that fun fact, we got to tour the deck and three of the underlying decks. It’s amazing to think that something so old and rich with history is still around and still in working order. Too cool.

#8. Mike’s Pastry: Wow. If heaven comes in a white and blue box … then I think I’ll stay there. ♥ A ton of people were walking around Boston with these boxes in their hands, so being the foodies that my parents and I are, we plugged the pastry shop into our handy GPS and promptly walked there as fast as possible. Not that it helped much as there was a line wrapping outside of the shop’s doors. The line only lead into one of the most jammed packed, delicious smelling, and busy pastry shops that I have ever seen. With the limited view of their selection, but fellow customet’s advice, we decided on cannolis. I think it’s safe to say that even though each one was probably 3,000 calories … that cannolis are officially on my list of favorite foods. Yum!

#9. Cobb Hill cemetary: Maybe some of you don’t think that visiting cemeteries can actually be considered “fun,” but when you visit the one filled with super old gravestones that have been around for almost 200 years … I’m sure you’d all change your minds. People back then did it right. They made simple, small gravestones with large lettering and only a few details about their lives. I’m sorry, but huge headstones and monuments that are the size of small children? Not my style.

#10. Dartmouth: The lower left corner and over one! That is a picture of part of the Dartmouth campus (don’t mind the random car). A nice tour of the campus and a stroll around Hanover, New Hampshire and I was sold. Sure, it may be in the Ivy League with a small acceptance rate and be a private school on the East Coast out-of-the-way of civilization … BUT, I liked the feel of the campus, what it offers, and the surrounding city it’s in. Of course the attractive college guys walking around campus didn’t hurt either. ;-)

#11. Bill Roger’s running store: How could I go to Boston as a runner and not visit Boston Billy? To pass by his store would’ve been a sin. I might’ve had to quit running because I would’ve been so ashamed. Walking throughout the store, we got the chance to see all of his running memorabilia tacked to the wall and hanging from the ceiling. I took a picture of his Olympic warm-ups. I didn’t get the chance to put a picture of Bill on here though because when we went in, his brother was working. Oh well, I’m glad I got to go and take a walk down memory lane of the 70s running boom. Awesome!

#12. Fisherman’s memorial: Look familiar? That’s the same memorial monument that’s shown in The Perfect Storm. You guessed it! We got the chance to visit the famous fishing port of Gloucester, Massachusetts. Compared to our local fishing ports and what we’ve seen on tv of Gloucester, it was actually a really nice area! The locals thought their city of 27,000 was small, but to us (coming from a town of 3,500!) it was pretty big!

#13. Brown University: We’ve come to the final picture, and my favorite part of the trip. The large picture in the middle is on me standing next to the gates at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. With nothing else in Rhode Island to do, we decided to tour the campus, not knowing whether I’d even like it or not, and I fell in love. Stepping foot onto the campus, I was instantly comfortable and could see myself spending four years there. The people were friendly, the surrounding city that the campus is nestled into is exciting and full of things to do, and the campus itself was beautiful. Besides the tour we went on, we also drove back to Providence for one last walk around before leaving to come back to the West Coast. It’s safe to assume that I will definitely be applying there my senior year. Until then, I’m going to be doing as much as can to better my chances of getting in. I want to be a Brown Bear. :-)

That’s it! Well, not really. I actually ended up taking about 90 some pictures, but alas … only thirteen would fit into my collage for you readers. These were some of the highlights of the trip and besides what I talked about, my parents and I saw and did so much more. If you have any questions about the trip, feel free to ask! Not to mention that if you’ve been to the East Coast or any part of it that I mentioned, please share! I loved the East Coast and am missing it the longer I’ve been home. I can’t wait to go back and until then, will remember this trip and all the good memories that were made. Now! As I originally made this blog to be about running, and not just about my life, my next post will be on topic. Unless of course, that my life gets exciting again and I just have to share it. ;-)

Until next time,

Gabby.

2 thoughts on “East Coast.

  1. Your holiday sounds amazing! I am a tid bit jealous.

    Anyhoo I have questions unrelated to this particular post. It’s more of an advice asking thing. SO, my friend and I are planning to run a half marathon in october (21km) and though both us have been running for several years, neither of us have ever run a marathon. I am seeking some training tips. Currently I run about 5 and half km, 6 times a week. The route I take is quite hilly (probably 80% up hill) and takes me about 40 min. What do I need to do in order to prepare to run 21 km in a reasonable time? Any tips welcome!! Thank you (:

    • Hello! I’m so sorry I haven’t been able to get back to your comment sooner. I hope my advice doesn’t come to late. :-)

      I haven’t ever run a marathon or half … BUT! can still provide some tips. If you’re running 6 times a week and only about 5.5 km, then I’d say your best bet would be to start ramping up your mileage near the end of the week. Don’t woryr about running 7 days a week to do so (you need your rest days!), but each week if you ran about 8 km and added a mile or two to that run each week, you would be ramping up the mileage to be ready for your half in no time. What I’m talking about is also what people mean by adding 10%, which also works just as well and slowly so you can get used to running the further distances. By that I mean, keep track of your mileage per week and add 10% the following week. You can do so by going on one longer run, or splitting up the mileage so that maybe 2 of your runs are 6km a week instead of 5.5. Since your half is in October and hearing that you and your friend have been running for a few years, as well as are running consistently right now … I don’t think you’ll have any problems. Just focus on those longer runs and relax and enjoy your training. Some people train to run farther than the 21km while others never have their long run extend beyond 16 or so. Whatever plan you guys decide on will work great. Depending on how serious you are about running a good time, as the race gets closer, you might also think about racing a 10K just to get your pace down.

      I’m not sure how helpful my advice is, and if you have any questions feel free to ask, but there is also a TON of places online your can search for training plans and tips if I didn’t clear anything up. I look forward to hearing about your training and wish you and your friend the best of luck! :-)

What'd you think?

