Pep talk.

We’ve been working on capturing our readers’ attention when we write papers in my English class lately, so I’m going to practice some of what we’ve talked about. I’m going to use a name drop here, ready? David Frost. He’s a cool guys, right? Not saying that I think David Frost is a cool guy just because he’s British and has a cool accent or anything. Of course not. Or because he won two Emmys for a show he hosted and interviewed various people on. Never. Well, okay … those things might be part of the reason why (mainly because I like British accents :-), but he once said something that has stuck with me and I think about often. It went a little something like this …

“Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.”

It’s simply put, but says so much. Mmm, simplicity. I love it. Because of how truly awesome I think what Mr. Frost is saying here, I have this quote on my wall and see it everyday. When I’m stressing out about school, running, friends, drama rehearsals, band, driver’s ed, family … Or when I’m stressing out about anything going on in my crazy-wacky-busy-turbulent-yet-oh-so-wonderful life, I think of this quote. Naturally, as the self-proclaimed perfectionist that I have happened to become, I strive for

This is my "nervous" face.

success in everything that I do. This is sometimes a good thing, but at the same time, can sometimes cause problems. I won’t go into detail, but will say this. If I ever have a meltdown, make sure you are as far away from me as you can get. I wouldn’t say that I’m exactly proud of the basket-case mental patient I become, and  know for certain that I’m no fun to deal with in those situations. Not to say that with all I have going on in my life right now that a meltdown is in the near future, but quite the opposite of that. For once, I’m actually relaxed and smoothly moving along through everything that’s going on my life. So far at least … I brought up this quote because Saturday is a big day for me and I need all the support and motivation I can to get through it. Not that there won’t be days that mean much more and are of actual importance compared to this weekend, but because after the events on Saturday transpire … then I’ve crossed the point of no return. The train has left the station. No water breaks allowed. The beginning of the end. However you want to put it, it’s the beginning of what will become the fastest passing two and a half months of my short life thus far. So have I dragged out the suspense enough, or did you already guess what I was going to say? Saturday is my first track meet. Sure, I’ve raced and competed in track, cross country, and road races before, but it’s always that first race of the season that gets me really anxious. I don’t know what racing shape I’m in and not sure what competition is out there for me this season. Not to mention that key parts of my support group aren’t going to be there. Some of the most important men (since most of the women are going to be there :-)  in my life are going to be gone, leaving me to stick with the team mates and friends that won’t be gone. My dad will be working and one of my team mates, who is a part of our long distance crew and is also a close friend of mine, will be visiting family in Oregon. Who I’m mainly going to miss are two of my good friends (who I often will refer to as “my boys” as they pretty much are the main boys I hangout with. ;-) that were nerdy awesome enough to make it to Knowledge Bowl state this weekend. The same day as the meet of course. I’m proud of them and excited to see how they do, but they’re also distance runners so it’s a bummer that they can’t go to our first meet. They’ve always been there with me at every meet, practice, and even road races. They’re part of my race day routine and when they’re gone Saturday, it’s going to be a little … different, to say the least. Boom. Four parts of my support system … gone. At least my other team mates, my coach, and mom will be there. I’m glad they’re going to be there, but not having my dad or the boys there is an idea that kind of makes me even more nervous …

My biggest competitor.

We had a time trial last week that made me a little more confident in how the meet is going to go, but I’m still freaking out a little bit about what shape I’m in and if my body is ready for that many tears endorphins after my races … Okay, so maybe it’s getting worse by the hour … so what? There are so many “What ifs?” going through my head and self-doubt is starting to creep in. What if I run slower than last year? What if my legs are still really tired and sore? What if some freshman creeps up from the back of the pack and beats me? What if I’m hungry or my stomach hurts? What if I can’t make it? Can I make it? What if it’s super windy or really cold and I can’t get a good enough warm-up? What if … I wasn’t nervous? When you’re nervous, all the energy you’re spending obsessing could be put forward to the task at hand. I suppose I should start that process then. The process of de-stressing and dare I say it … relaxing.  This is where David Frost’s quote might help me concentrate and focus. From what he said,  if I want success on Saturday, no matter my goals, then I should just enjoy the race and believe that I can do whatever I set my mind to. I feel like I’ve heard that before … Not to mention that my coach tells us all the time, “Just run your race. Don’t worry about anyone else.” Maybe I should listen to him … and maybe his pep talks are more than just pep talks, just like David Frost is more than just a producer.

“Relax and be confident in whatever you do and you will be successful. No ‘what ifs’ about it. “

I know someone else has said that before, probably in a more drawn out and complex way, but until I get sued for saying it … You can quote me on that. :-)

Until next time,

Gabby.

5 thoughts on “Pep talk.

  1. As I read your article I had to laugh because I could have written it myself although not about running. It’s a hard life we perfectionist bring upon ourselves. I am good at what I do but always strive to be better and if I am not “good enough” before someone can say anything about it I either give up or keep trying when I should have given up. I have discovered that each failure is a triumph because it gives me a new direction in which to strive for the success I seek. Run like the wind because in the end you will eventually run into something! Nice article.

    • Haha good to hear that I’m not alone in my strive for perfection! Truly though, thank you so much. Your comment has inspired me just as I hope my article helped you realize in what direction you’re searching for success. :-) Best of luck!

  2. I enjoy your ramblingness and “melt down” as you call it. Makes me feel somewhat less a lone – just had my own melt down and ended up in the fetal position (rocking) on the lounge floor coz the house was messy, anyhoo… This comment/question is sorta unrelated to your inspiring post of wisdom, but here it is. Q1. I read in a previous blog of yours that you have a core workout ritual you do everyday, I am just wondering if you would share this? I’ve been trying to work out my own, but I am lazy and need guidance! Q2. What do you do when you have a heavy cold? Do you still run? I’ve had a cold this week and skipped a couple of runs to try and nip it in the bud, but I feel bad/restless when I do this. SIGH. Worries of life. Anyways, bout time I go before I never stop…. :D

    • Haha glad I could someone could somewhat relate to my meltdown experience! And to answer your questions 1) My core workout isn’t secret at all, nor is it very complex, but I try to do it everyday. I do 2 sets of 50 normal crunches and 2 sets of 25 leg extensions. Those are where you lie on your back with your legs extended and held at 6 inches from the ground. Then you bend your legs and bring your knees to your chest before extending them back out to 6 inches. You can drop your feet and rest until the next one, but I usually make it harder and try to keep my feet off the ground the whole time! Answer 2) When I have a heavy cold, I still run, but usually not very far and definitley not hard. don’t feel bad for missing runs if you’re not feeling up to it though. I can understand feeling restless, but if you can then try and cross-train or just focus on getting better! Best of luck! :-)

  3. That’s an awesome quote!! I can definitely relate to how you feel. The first race freaks me out so much. You don’t know exactly what you can do so it’s all a mystery. Staying relaxed about it and focusing on enjoying it instead is so difficult but it definitely helps!

What'd you think?

