Happy Run-a-versary!

 

Brooks says to Run Happy? Will do. :-)

3 years ago from this day, I started running. Okay, it wasn’t the very first time I had ever run of course (that would’ve been when I was toddler!), but 3 years ago from this day, I started running … and kept running. I mark February 17th on the calendar as my anniversary of starting to run all the time. By that I mean 6 times a week, just like I do even now. I fondly call it my Run-aversary. No matter how many people snicker and make fun of me when they hear about my special day, I think it’s quite a creative title and way more exciting than my “anniversary of starting to run.” Running is a huge part in my life, hence the reason I call myself a run-ner. Get it now? Good. So when I woke up this morning and went about my day, I thought, “Man, today is a big day. I should totally blog about it!” Yes. Yes, I really did have that thought pass through my head. So yes, I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a running nut. :-) As the day went on, I started thinking of lengthy, in-depth, and boring ways that I could relate the importance of my anniversary to you guys … but decided against that. I finally decided this, but of course, on my run. I decided that as much as I share my running experiences with others and can go into detail explaining a run, that I really didn’t need to. Don;t get too excited though, because I’m going to get on my soapbox for a bit and say something.

Running is important to me. No duh, right? I mean … I have a blog about it! I run everyday and it has changed me in every single aspect. From what I wear, to what I eat, when I sleep, who I hangout with, how I go about my day … And anything else that my life revolves around, running has changed it in some way. Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying those changes and becoming the person I want to be. Running is a freedom and every minute I’m out on the roads is a minute that I don’t regret spending. Okay, I’m going to get off my soapbox now, just had to get that out. Not too boring or maybe a little too passionate? Haha good.

Thinking about this as I ran, I decided that today’s blog would be (somewhat) short and to the point. I’ve run a few thousand miles in the past 3 years and tomorrow? Yeah. I’m going to add to that mileage bank. And if I ever stop running? Well, I’ll deal with that when it comes … but the goal is life. To run for as long as my body will carry me, and as long as I am still enjoying it. So watch out world, this is only my third Run-aversary out of many more to come. :-)

Until next time,

Gabby.

16 thoughts on “Happy Run-a-versary!

  1. Happy Runaversary !!! I am so curious, what changed in your life ??? Would ou give some examples and be just a tiny bit more specific ? Or mabey some of your previous posts are sheding some light on those changes ????

    • Thank you!! And mostly everything in my life has changed, haha. I’ve become a more open person and through running have gained a lot of confidence in myself, my outfits have changed (now I own way too many running leggings, shorts, and race t-shirts! Haha :-), a lot of my friends nowadays are runners as well, my diet has become healthier (funny thing – if I have a race coming up, my mom will know to make pasta so I can carb load – needless to say, during cross country season we eat a lot of pasta in my household!), and the list can go on and on! Haha a few of my other posts go into detail in different parts of my life involving running, but hey! I’ve only recently started this blog and there’s many posts yet to come. :-)

  2. Aww, amen on the weather! I live in Washington, too, and it’s been raining for most of the week.. Blehh. >:P

    Haha, I wish I remember when I started running! That seems like an awesome idea– a Runnerversary, lol. Maybe I can check at my gym to see when I first signed up/did my first workout there. I don’t know what my anniversary

    • Ugh, I know! We hadn’t had rain for a bit and I was enjoying it, but oh well. That’s Washington for you!

      Haha thank you! The date that I exactly started running was in January or Februaury, but I don’t remember which day that was … so I just picked a random day in February and have been going off of that. :-P

  3. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m happy to have found yours too! I can make myself run for a variety of reasons. I just can’t stop eating things that are counterproductive to being a healthy runner. :) Wondering..do you use any energy drinks during your longer runs and for races? Up to this point, I’ve tried a couple and I do think they make a difference, but they are expensive so I only use them when I want to increase my performance. Happy run-a-versary. Very impressive.

    • Haha that’s why we run though right? So we can eat without any guilt? Haha ;-) To answer your question, I haven’t actaully experiented with any energy gels or drinks with my longer runs. My long runs are only about 10 to 12, so I usually don’t find myself in need of anything extra. I’m planning to do some farther running this summer though and will probably try some different energy supplements and keep your advice in mind.

      Thank you for your supprt! As impressive as my running may seem, it’s really just been fun and I’ve been enjoying every minute of it. :-)

  4. Happy Run-aversary! I’ve started running again recently after a sabbatical of laziness. This time I chose Brooks as my shoe of choice and loving them! Hope my pancake recipe gives you a nice carb load for a run in the future. :)

    • Thank you!! Best of luck getting back into running, sometimes it takes some time off to realize how much you love it. Also, hope your Brooks treat you well even if I’m more of a Soucony girl. ;-)

      I can’t wait to try your recipe! Hoping to try it soon and will let you know my thoughts!

    • Thank you! And yes, a wonderful feeling. After putting up with all the bad days, long runs, and sore muscles … It is worth it overall. :-) Best of luck to you in your running!

  5. Pingback: Seven words for seven years of running. | fRustUratiNg

What'd you think?

