How refreshing.

See? Water helps you run. I'm so punny. ;-)

“I never drink water. I’m afraid it will become habit-forming.”

Amen to that! Haha W.C Fields was a smart man, and also the one who said,

“I never drink water; that is the stuff that rusts pipes.”

Very insightful.

Think about it though…

I'm not in chemistry, but it seems pretty simple.

Our bodies are about 66% percent water, a water molecule is made up of only 2 hydrogens atoms and 1 oxygen atom, 75% of the Earth’s surface is covered by water, nearly everything you eat or drink contains water, the total amount of water on Earth has stayed about the same for 2 billion years, it takes 11.6 gallons to process a chicken,  and yet more than 3 times more people lack water than live in the United States.

WATER. WATER. WATER.

Sure, World Water Day isn’t until March 22nd, but I thought I’d bring up how important it is … just something to think about. Or maybe even some encouragement to become a little healthier. :-)

They say that a person can drink up to 3 gallons a day. Well, I drink water all day long, but still … 3 gallons!? Sorry, but I don’t have time to visit the bathroom 4567994 times a day. It’s also known that water leaves your stomach within five minutes of consumption. Watch out kidneys.

Me? I drink a glass of water as soon as I wake up and with my breakfast, carry around a water bottle all day at school, after my workouts and always have a cup at hand whenever I’m at home. Some call it healthy … I call it, well …what else am I supposed to drink?! I haven’t had pop in almost 2 years, I blame an ever-growing coffee addiction on my friends, and even though cran-rasberry juice is the bomb, only clear colored liquids are allowed at my school … What’s wrong with juice? It’s not like I’m going to bring vodka or whiskey or something! Plus, vodka is clear, so I probably could get away with bringing that anyway. ;-)

My Jenny Craig diet doesn’t say if I’m allowed to have this many calories …

As a runner, I know just how important staying hydrated is, but I’ve learned this the hard way. From having to pee on runs (or having your friends bolt into the bushes) to becoming dehydrated and getting dizzy during hard workouts, I’ve found that water is definitely one of my best friends … Move over peanut butter. The more water you drink, the healthier you are. Easy enough to remember. Drink too much and, like alcohol, you can become intoxicated. No, I’m not joking. You literally can become intoxicated from water as it will dilute your levels of sodium. So if you plan on sitting down and trying to get “drunk” off of water … don’t forget the saltines!

 
Yes, I enjoy water. That’s probably why I’ve used that same word 25 times in this post. Did you count, too? I think it’s tasteless, confusingly clear, and sometimes just annoying (I’m talking about water in the form of rain. something we Washingtonians get WAY too much). At the same time though, it’s necessary for our survival (you can only live about a week without water) and makes for a healthy lifestyle. Drink up!
 
Until next time,
 
Gabby.
 
P.S: In case any of you lovely readers would like to support my H2O addiction and love of water bottles, feel free to send
me a Camelbak! I’m in love with them … not that I actually own one, but hey! my birthday is coming up somewhat soon. *hint hint*
8 thoughts on “How refreshing.

  1. Just thought I’d share: I read the post first then scrolled up and read the blog title as “First Urinating”. I thought it was apt, if a little strange. It took my brain a few seconds to catch up with my eyes.

    Actually on topic though, water is fabulous. I hate that I crave something so bland but I do. For years I was reliant on Coke to get me through the day but in the last few I’ve managed to make water my main drink.

    I admit it. I’m an addict.

    • Haha glad you caught on with the title. I agree, “First Urinating” would be quite a strange thing to name a blog!

      Isn’t water the best though? Way to break away from all of the soda, I’m still trying to convince one of my closest friends that she can survive without Coke! Haha either way, I’m glad someone out there is alongside me with their water addiction… Although I’m afraid that it’s an addiction with no cure. ;-)

  2. I have a love-hate relationship with water. Sometimes I crave it and chug it all the time. Sometimes the idea of water makes me want to gag! I could definitely stand to work on staying hydrated though!

    • Haha I have to agree. Sometimes I love water, and others it just doesn’t sound very good. Good luck working on hydrating more, I’m sure you’re also aware of just how important it is to us runners. :-)

  3. Haha, i feel like this post went strait to me! I am a huge coffee drinker and dont drink a ton of water outside working out and vball tournements..;) Learning all the healthier things that water can do for me i will definatly try to drink more to make you proud of me!
    Love you, keep these up they are wonderfully informational and puts a smile on my face with your lovely jokes! :)

  4. haha this post was too funny…I have a love obsession with water too, I drink a ridiculous amount of it a day..and yes, i make around 100 trips to the bathroom a day too. oh well, i’m a hydration monster.

    p.s. camelbaks are awesome! i carry mine around with me everywhere.

    • Haha thank you, and yes! I suppose it’s better to be hydrated and have to go to the bathroom all the time than not. Oh, and I am very jealous of your camelbak. I plan on getting one the next time I’m at the store! :-)

  5. I enjoyed your water post this morning. I drink 2 glasses of water every morning before I run. I probably need to work on drinking more.To change the subject, I have to ask…, what does grudolph and also fRustUratiNg mean exactly?

What'd you think?

