Snow. Lots and lots of snow.

Ugh. Have you ever woken up, looking forward to a new day along with the hope of hanging out with some of your friends, only to look out the window and see snow? And by snow, I don’t just mean a few inches. By snow, I mean 10-12 inches. Here, let me put that in perspective for you … ONE FOOT. And as you’re thinking. “Oh, time to go to school.” No. Just no. Good luck backing out of that slanted driveway covered in all of the snow we just got this morning plus the few inches from yesterday. Not to mention the ice underneath! Thanks Mother Nature. Don’t get me wrong though, snow + ice = no school. That meant that today … I got to experience a true winter run! Geared up in spandex shorts, water-wicking sweats, dri-fit socks, a T-shirt, running jacket, gloves, hat, headband, and running shoes I took a last look at the windy, freezing rain that I was about to be apart of and left the warmth of my house.

Walking out the door, I was surprised to find how deep the snow was after just seeing it from inside. Yeah, not fun. Starting to run was interesting and I felt like I was about to die maybe 15+ times after slipping, but as I sank into my pace and focused on the road, the run seemed to have cruised by in the blink of an eye. Along the way though, a few interesting thoughts passed through my mind.

  • “Oh, I must have some snow in my eyes … Okay, nope. That old woman really is skiing towards me.”
  • “Wow, going up this hill I’m pretty sure my stride has been reduced to about what? 3 inches?”
  • “Hey, this isn’t too slippe .. OH MY GOD! I almost died!”
  • “A good alternative to lunges when there’s a foot of snow … try running on the sidewalks.”
  • “Since when did the fact that it’s snowy and icy allow you to drive on the left side of the road!? Pretty sure we’re not in England, ole chap.”
  • “Hello truck driving by me. Yes, I realize that there’s snow and ice everywhere. Yes, I realize that you think I’m crazy for going on a run. And yes, I see that you are laughing at my being miserable as you sit in your heated truck. Thanks.”

Near the end of my run, I was just cresting the top of a hill, when a man at the top (who was with his son, who was sledding down it) decided to comment on my running. As I passed him he said, “That is just wrong.” He shook his head at me and I just laughed and finished my run, but man oh man I was thinking of plenty of rude things to say back. Sure, he meant it nice enough, but on the contrary to what he believes … I think that running in the snow and using my snow day to enjoy a short, relaxing run is completely and utterly right. Thank you for sharing your kind opinion, sir.

Until next time,

Gabby.

 

P.S: I stole this photo from a gal who lives fairly close to me and got the same amount of snow. Now just imagine it on the ground and not on the car … Oh, and running in it!

Image

P.S.S: Running on the snow and ice was still kind of tricky, don’t get me wrong! So if you just happen to have an extra pair of Yaktrax on your hands, I would be more than happy to help! Hehe.

5 thoughts on “Snow. Lots and lots of snow.

  1. I laughed so hard i cryed when i read this!! You are so funny! I will read every blog, and become a stalker of your writing those were great stories i look forward to reading more , love you girl! -ambi

What'd you think?

